Guide

Send Money to Coppel and BanCoppel from the USA

BanCoppel pays out money sent from the US at its own branch windows and at the payment counters inside Coppel stores, more than 1,800 places in all by its count, and straight into BanCoppel accounts. Below: what each US app calls it, what $500 costs as a deposit or as cash, how much each counter hands over, and what your family brings to collect.

By TransferFees 8 min read Last updated November 2, 2026Editorial standards
01

Where the Money Can Land

Pick BanCoppel as the payer in a US app and the pesos can end up in one of three places. A cash transfer comes with a code that works at the bank’s own windows and at the Cajas de Abono, the payment counters in Coppel stores; a deposit skips the counter and lands in a BanCoppel account. BanCoppel sets a different ceiling for each.

A BanCoppel window

The teller counter in a BanCoppel branch. BanCoppel’s limits table allows $10,000 a transfer, a day and a month here, but the summary at the top of the same page, and its cash pickup page, put the window at $2,999 a day. Until the bank settles it, plan around the smaller number.

A Coppel store counter (Caja de Abono)

$2,999 a transfer, and also $2,999 a day and $2,999 a month, by the same table. That monthly figure is the tightest one BanCoppel prints: a single large transfer can use up a whole month at a Coppel counter.

A BanCoppel account or the app

The ceiling rises to $10,000 per transfer, per day and per month, whether the money is deposited directly or collected into the account in the BanCoppel app. This is the one route that needs your recipient to hold a BanCoppel account; the counters don’t ask for one.

BanCoppel states these in dollars or the peso equivalent, on its remittance page as read on November 2, 2026. The service you send with may stop lower; its caps are further down.

A third company is involved as well. BanCoppel’s pages name Transnetwork México as the party responsible for the money transfer service, and describe BanCoppel, Coppel and Transnetwork as legally independent of one another. None of that changes what your family does at the counter.

02

What to Pick in Each US App

In most US apps the payer to look for is BanCoppel, not Coppel. On November 2, 2026 we looked at what 13 services publish for US senders: 10 name a payout here, and all but one list it under the bank’s name. Taptap Send is the exception: its cash pickup list names Coppel, and its Mexico fee table carries a separate Bancoppel row with a different fee.

Service
Listed as
Cash pickup
Into a BanCoppel account
Payer changes the price?
BanCoppel
Yes
Yes; you enter BanCoppel as the bank, plus the account or card number
Yes, by its own page
BanCoppel
Yes
Yes
Yes, by its own page
BanCoppel
Yes
Yes; you enter the CLABE for a bank deposit, or the card number (16 digits) for a debit card deposit
No
BanCoppel
Yes
Yes; you enter your recipient’s BanCoppel account, name or pickup details
No
Bancoppel
Yes
Yes; you enter the CLABE or a debit card number
No
Coppel, plus a separate Bancoppel fee row
Yes
Not stated
Yes, by its own page
BanCoppel
Not stated
Yes; you enter the recipient’s name, “BanCoppel account information” and phone number
Not stated
Bancoppel
Yes
Yes; you enter the bank name and the account number (CLABE)
Not stated
Bancoppel
Yes
Not stated
No
BanCoppel
Yes
Yes; you enter “Bank details and account number”
Not stated

Where a cell says Not stated, the service’s US pages were silent on it, which isn’t the same as a no. Each name links to our calculator for that service.

Three names you might expect are missing. Wise is ruled out entirely: the banks its guide to peso transfers says it cannot pay include “BanCoppel (CLABE starts with 137).” Sendwave names only Oxxo and Banorte for cash in Mexico, and no banks. Paysend leaves BanCoppel off its own list of Mexico pickup partners, and says only that it delivers to “any bank account in Mexico”.

03

Pricing a $500 Transfer Both Ways

BanCoppel takes nothing from your family; it says each sending service charges its own fee. So the price is the service’s, and at some services it hangs on which payer you choose. BOSS Money, MoneyGram and Taptap Send show this on their own pages, so a general Mexico quote from them is not their BanCoppel price, and we don’t print one.

Pangea, Remitly and Ria are a different case. Their own pages tie the price to the size of the transfer, the payment method and the delivery option or speed, and none lists the payer among them; each one also pays out at BanCoppel and deposits into BanCoppel accounts. So what they charge for a deposit or a pickup in our data is what they charge when BanCoppel is the payer. Here is $500 sent from a US bank account.

Pangea
Remitly
Into a BanCoppel account
about $8.57all-in, incl. $1.95 fee
$9.11all-in, incl. $1.99 fee
Cash pickup at BanCoppel
about $10.54all-in, incl. $3.95 fee
$11.08all-in, incl. $3.99 fee

USD to MXN, in quotes collected October 28–30, 2026. The all-in figure adds the fee to the cost of the rate markup, which we measure against the mid-market rate. A price the service marks as promotional is flagged here and never treated as the smallest.

For the deposit, Pangea had the smallest all-in cost, about $8.57. It did for cash as well, at about $10.54. Switching from the deposit to cash added $1.97 at Pangea and $1.97 at Remitly.

Ria also prices without the payer, but the quotes we collected from it don’t include $500, so it sits out of this table.

WorldRemit and Xoom pay out at BanCoppel and deposit into its accounts as well, but neither says whether the payer moves the price. Western Union’s BanCoppel page describes only the deposit, and Xe mentions BanCoppel only as a place to pick up cash. We leave all four out instead of guessing.

04

Caps Set by the Sending Services

BanCoppel’s ceilings are only half of it. The service you send with keeps limits of its own for BanCoppel, and they are often tighter. Pangea is the sharpest example: it allows $2,999 on one cash transfer to BanCoppel but only $3,000 across 30 days, so one large pickup uses nearly all of a month. These are the services that print a BanCoppel figure.

Pangea
Cash: $2,999 a transfer, $2,999 a day, $3,000 per 30 days. Deposit: $2,999.99 a transfer.
WorldRemit
Cash: 27,000 pesos a transfer, 58,000 pesos a month. Deposit: 55,000 pesos a transfer.
Xoom
Cash: $1,450 a transfer, $3,000 a day ($800 a day in eight states and at some locations in three more). Deposit: no BanCoppel figure, but $999.99 a transfer and $5,000 a month for most Mexican banks, in an article dated July 10, 2023.

From each service’s own pages on November 2, 2026. Xoom’s BanCoppel figures come from a help article dated August 21, 2019; its lower $800 daily limit applies in Guanajuato, Guerrero, Jalisco, Michoacán, San Luis Potosí, Sinaloa, Tamaulipas and Veracruz, and at some locations in Estado de México, Baja California and Oaxaca. Pangea says its limits also depend on where you and your recipient are and on your account level, and WorldRemit says its own can be lower depending on where you send from and how you pay.

05

Collecting the Cash

A first pickup takes a little paperwork; after that it gets quicker. This is what BanCoppel asks of the person collecting, and where the rules come from elsewhere, whose they are.

The code
A clave de envío of 10, 11 or 12 digits, created by the service you sent with. Pass it on exactly as the service shows it; with it, your family can also ask at any BanCoppel window whether the money has arrived.
The first visit
Valid official ID, plus a fingerprint that BanCoppel registers on that visit. From then on, BanCoppel says the fingerprint, a user number and the code are enough, without the ID.
Foreign nationals
A passport and the code, at a BanCoppel window or a Coppel counter.
Which state
BanCoppel contradicts itself. Its FAQ says any BanCoppel branch or Coppel store in any state; another of its pages limits collection to the state or city the sender named. Two services add a state rule of their own: WorldRemit limits BanCoppel pickups to the state in the recipient’s address, apart from Estado de México and Mexico City, and Xoom requires the address state to match the pickup state in Baja California and Sonora. Enter your recipient’s real address, have them collect in that state, and none of these rules gets in the way.
All at once
The window pays the full amount in one go. BanCoppel says it can’t be split into partial payouts.
Timing
BanCoppel says a transfer can show up about 30 minutes after it’s sent, and gives no deadline for collecting it: the money waits until the sender cancels.
06

Sending Straight to a BanCoppel Account

If your recipient banks with BanCoppel, a deposit spares them the trip and raises the ceiling to $10,000 a day. BanCoppel tells its customers to share one of three numbers: the 16-digit card number, the 11-digit account number, or the 18-digit CLABE, which for BanCoppel starts with 137. The card number has a catch. If the card has expired, BanCoppel’s system refuses the deposit, so the account number or CLABE is the safer choice when you aren’t sure the card is current.

A cash transfer can end up in an account too. Once your recipient has registered at a window, they can open the BanCoppel app, choose “Cobro de Remesas,” enter the code and pick the account, and BanCoppel says the money is there immediately. For cash out of the account later, BanCoppel points to more than 11,800 ATMs through the Multired network.

No account yet? BanCoppel’s Cuenta Clic opens in the app for anyone 18 or older with a valid INE voter card, with no opening balance and no maintenance fee. It is a Level 2 account, so deposits are capped at 3,000 UDIs a month (UDIs are Mexico’s inflation-indexed unit of account). BanCoppel also says money from the US is no reason to block an account and doesn’t put a hold on the balance.

A CLABE starting with 137 rules out Wise

A CLABE that opens with 137 belongs to a BanCoppel account, and Wise won’t deliver to it. Pick a service that deposits into BanCoppel accounts from the table higher up this page. Our CLABE checker names the bank behind any CLABE when you want to be certain.

07

Other Ways to Reach Mexico

BanCoppel is one payer among dozens in Mexico. If your family can collect elsewhere or banks somewhere else, the board below lines up a bank deposit to Mexico at every service we track, using the live mid-market rate.

Compare Money Transfer Services

Sending 1,000.00 USD → MXN · Estimated typical cost · bank deposit, bank-funded

Showing 13 of 17 services we can price for USD → MXN

mid-market rate 18.7779figures verified October 2026
1
XE
XELowest est. cost
provider quote
Total cost
6.69 USD
0.00 fee · 6.69 markup0.67% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,652.33 MXN
rate 18.652334best on this board
Send money nowView calculator
2
Taptap Send
Taptap Send
provider quote
Total cost
6.75 USD
1.99 fee · 4.76 markup0.67% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,688.36 MXN
rate 18.688356+0.06 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
3
Instarem
Instarem
provider quote
Total cost
7.30 USD
0.00 fee · 7.30 markup0.73% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,640.91 MXN
rate 18.640911+0.61 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
4
Wise
WiseRate ref differs
provider quote
Total cost
7.58 USD
7.67 fee · -0.09 markup0.76% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,635.56 MXN
rate 18.779597+0.89 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
5
Ria Money Transfer
Ria Money Transfer
provider quote
Total cost
9.28 USD
1.99 fee · 7.29 markup0.93% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,640.67 MXN
rate 18.640669+2.60 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
6
Western Union
Western Union
provider quote
Total cost
10.26 USD
1.99 fee · 8.27 markup1.03% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,622.22 MXN
rate 18.622224+3.58 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
7
Sendwave
Sendwave
provider quote
Total cost
11.70 USD
1.99 fee · 9.71 markup1.17% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,595.26 MXN
rate 18.595263+5.01 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
8
Paysend
Paysend
provider quote
Total cost
12.48 USD
0.99 fee · 11.49 markup1.25% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,543.62 MXN
rate 18.561997+5.79 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
9
Pangea
Pangea
provider quote
Total cost
15.21 USD
1.95 fee · 13.26 markup1.52% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,528.46 MXN
rate 18.528455+8.52 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
10
MoneyGram
MoneyGram
provider quote
Total cost
15.29 USD
1.90 fee · 13.39 markup1.53% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,525.96 MXN
rate 18.525957+8.60 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
11
Remitly
Remitly
provider quote
Total cost
15.72 USD
1.99 fee · 13.73 markup1.57% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,519.65 MXN
rate 18.51965+9.03 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
12
WorldRemit
WorldRemit
provider quote
Total cost
24.67 USD
1.99 fee · 22.68 markup2.47% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,351.12 MXN
rate 18.351118+17.99 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator
13
OFX
OFX
provider quote
Total cost
26.85 USD
0.00 fee · 26.85 markup2.69% of 1,000.00
Recipient gets
18,273.72 MXN
rate 18.273716+20.16 USD vs best
Send money nowView calculator

Estimates only, not live quotes. "Recipient Gets" is for a bank deposit funded from a bank account, on today's mid-market rate: for a "provider quote", minus the rate markup and fee from that provider's own recent quote; for an estimate, minus the provider's typical markup and fee. Rows are ranked by total cost, the fee plus the rate markup, so a fee charged on top of the amount sent counts against a provider even when its recipient gets more. Real cost varies by corridor, amount, delivery and payment method, and promotions (e.g. new-customer offers can be cheaper). Tap a provider to get its live rate before sending. The dot by each provider shows confidence, and the label says how the figure was grounded: "corridor estimate" is a rate we measured for this exact pair; a currency-code estimate (e.g. "USD estimate") is measured for that source currency but not this destination; "typical estimate" is the provider's general figure across all its corridors; "provider quote" is that provider's own recent quote for this pair, its markup and fee applied to today's mid-market rate exactly as its calculator shows them, and a provider whose quote depends on a payment or delivery choice is left out here and priced on its own calculator. Margins are verified against live provider quotes and the World Bank Remittance Prices database; the date above is the most recent collection. Some “Send money now” buttons are partner links: we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you, and rows are ranked by cost whatever the link. See how we collect these prices and our advertising disclosure.

For the full picture of getting pesos to Mexico, start with our main Mexico guide. Families who collect at Elektra or bank with Banco Azteca have a Banco Azteca guide of their own, and the OXXO guide covers the convenience-store counter.

08

Coppel and BanCoppel Questions

Is sending money to Coppel the same as sending it to BanCoppel?

Nearly. BanCoppel says one code from a cash transfer can be collected at a BanCoppel branch window, at the Caja de Abono counter inside a Coppel store, or in the BanCoppel app, so both names lead to the same money. Most US services list the payer as BanCoppel. Taptap Send is the one we found that lists Coppel itself, in a fee row apart from Bancoppel's.

How much money can a Coppel store pay out?

$2,999 a transfer, and no more than $2,999 in a month, at a Caja de Abono Coppel, going by BanCoppel's own limits table. For more than that, send to a BanCoppel account instead, where the ceiling is $10,000 a day.

Does my family pay anything to collect at BanCoppel?

No. BanCoppel says the service is free for the person receiving and that it charges no commission to receive. The fee is paid at your end, and each sending company sets its own.

What is a BanCoppel clave de envío?

The transfer code, 10, 11 or 12 digits long, that the sending service creates for a cash transfer. You pass it to your family; they show it with official ID the first time they collect.

Does Wise deliver to BanCoppel accounts?

No. BanCoppel is on Wise's own list of banks it can't deliver pesos to (BanCoppel CLABEs begin with 137), and Wise's US page for Mexico puts it down to BanCoppel being unable to handle Wise transfers.

Does my family need a BanCoppel account to collect cash?

Not for the counters. BanCoppel says money from the US can be collected without an account; one is needed only to receive it as a deposit or to collect in the app.

How long does money wait at BanCoppel?

BanCoppel gives no expiry date. Its own wording is that the transfer stays available for as long as the sender doesn't cancel it.

Can money from the US get a BanCoppel account frozen?

No. BanCoppel's deposits page says US remittances are not grounds for blocking the account, and that none of the balance is held back over them.

Key Takeaways

  • Most US apps list the payer as BanCoppel; a cash code can be collected at BanCoppel windows and at the counters inside Coppel stores.
  • A Coppel store counter pays out at most $2,999 a transfer and $2,999 a month; a BanCoppel account takes up to $10,000 a day.
  • Deposits into BanCoppel accounts go through 8 of the services in our table; Wise can’t, so watch for a CLABE starting with 137.
  • Collecting is free for your family; the first visit needs ID and a fingerprint, later ones just the fingerprint, user number and code.

Check today’s price before you pick BanCoppel

Line up today's quotes for your amount, then select BanCoppel or Coppel as the payer in the app that comes out ahead.